Skip to content

Project Specials: The Moon

July 15, 2009

Lots of nights ago, I was awoken by a bright light shining in my face. Was it a flashlight, I wondered, was someone in the backyard? Turns out my sister left the blinds open. We have no back yard neighbors. It’s a beautiful open field with a canal running behind us. It’s gorgeous, thus there are no buildings to obstruct the view of the sky. It looks something like this:

184054

… on a rainy day…

Any how, when I looked carefully, I realized it was the moon. And guess what? I couldn’t turn the “lamp” off either! I had to sleep with the moon flashing in my face because I was too tired to think of closing the blinds.

The moon, was HUGE. And bright. And beautiful, subhanallah… It was full. Or so I thought. When I woke up for Fajr, it was on the other side, the far right side. And then after praying fajr, I could see it setting. It disappeared behind the trees. The next night, the same thing happened. This time, it was even bigger. And it took longer to set. Was today the full moon? Or was it yesterday? The moon had sparked my curiousity and I decided I wanted to do a project on it with my siblings. Wouldn’t that be nice? Ramadan’s on the horizon. It would be great to learn of the stages of the moon and be able to figure it out yourself. So I wondered how to carry out this project. I’m no scientist.

062817

It’s beautiful… I feel like I can feel the world spinning around me… the solar system doing what it does. I feel the power of The One who controls it all. In the morning, I can see the sun rising and the moon setting… at night, I can see the sun setting and the moon rising. Wouldn’t it be great to study them. I made a chart to aid my experiment. You can find it here: moon. Taking pictures of every sighting is a great idea. I’m going to experiment with that. I don’t have a great camera… but hey, maybe I could get a better picture if I climbed the roof or that tree in the backyard! Of course, it would scare the hell out of my mom :D. Worth a try?

I didn’t want to base my project off of any other project on the web. I wanted to make my own… So I did, but resources are always a necessity. Here are a few site to check out:

Moon Phases

Moon Phases Activity

The Islamic Calender

Science of Moon Sighting

I had found this site that had all the details of the phase of the moon of the night in different areas along with info about the time of moon rise and set and stuff, but I lost it :(. And to end it on a beautiful note:

202713

‘Twas a lot more beautiful in person. Camera SUCKS!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ms AlleSanDr|a permalink
    July 15, 2009 11:02 pm

    Haha…get a SLR camera 😛 I love you home environment…peaceful

  2. July 19, 2009 4:20 pm

    GAH .. THE TREEE <333

    =D

    x

Leave a Reply

